top of page

J. Adams' song "What Kind of Man" is on self-reflection.

Updated: Jun 9, 2023


Singer-Songwriter and Producer J. Adams hails from historic Selma, Alabama. Currently, he works out of a home studio called “Evan’s Room”, in Prattville, Alabama where he resides. His passion for music started at a young age riding in the car hearing timeless songs from the likes of Donell Jones and Joe.


His musical ability in production, singing, songwriting, and engineering are all self-taught from videos, practical application, forums, and trial and error, focusing on topics of relationships and the trials of self-realization. His recording career started in 2009, in a friend’s small home studio, and his first home studio rig consisted of a Dell laptop and a USB guitar hero mic, using free DAW software.


Throughout the years J. Adams has focused on perfecting his craft and has been known to have a keen ear for melodies and beat selection.


J Adams found himself facing 2020 with a lot of tough choices. As he used music to try to navigate his various feelings of confusion and uncertainty, he discovered a desire to reinvent himself and to make commitments that would last the rest of his life.


How did he come up with the song, "What Kind of Man"?


What Kinda Man by J. Adams
"What Kinda Man" is part of his EP titled MOOD AF

MOOD AF EP by J. Adams
"What Kind of Man" is part of his EP titled, "Mood AF"


“Focus” is one of the singles that was born from that process. “At the end of last year, I had a transition within myself,” he said. “I wanted to start with a clean slate. I started thinking about what I wanted as a man and what I wanted in my relationships. “What Kind of Man” This song is a vision of what a man expects from himself as he tries to build a family. No one is perfect and you have to be honest and accept what you did wrong to fix these issues.


It’s about a man giving his wife everything he desires for her. It’s about self-reflection and asking myself, ‘As a man, what am I really trying to accomplish?’


The lyrics from the song, "What Kind of Man" depict that it is about self-reflection:


"What kinda man would I be / If I keep on playing games/ While you still stand beside me / Yea / While you still stand beside me"


When looking at the lyrics above, he realises that he needs to appreciate the woman he loves and not take her for granted. He wants to be the better man for her who can take care of her physically, spiritually and emotionally. As the song progresses, he seems committed to her as he starts talking about having a family:


"Just can’t give up on / On the family / All the things that we / We be talking bout when you laying next to me / When you laying on my chest baby / You help me breathe, help me breathe / Sometimes I need to get away / Can you be my getaway / Cause sometimes it’s like I’m losing faith / Yea ouuu bae"


Overall, what I like about the track is the lyrics. For instance, he said, "What kind of man I'll be if I keep on playing games...", It is relatable. However, my issue is that it seems his vocals are a bit low. I feel like he can do better than this. I also believe the track could have used a little more depth. Regardless, it's a nice track. Therefore, I rate the track around 7/10.






32 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page