top of page

Lorensa conveys her emotional heartbreak in "Strangers Instead"

Updated: Jun 9, 2023

While recovering from an emotional heartbreak, Lorensa wrote "Strangers Instead" as a way to openly express her hard break-up. Lorensa asserted, "This song is very important to me - wrote it after a very hard break-up." She went on to say, "I was confused by the idea of a relationship. I mean... it's all going to end the same, it's a cycle. Strangers - lovers- strangers again...."


The song was recorded at her home. Lorensa, Libby Larkin and Joe Wood wrote it together. Juice Bangers is responsible for the production of the song.


In the lyrics, she clearly expresses how she felt after the heartbreak. She starts by saying :


"I can’t remember your voice / I can’t remember the touch of your skin at all / Would you pick up the phone / Even though we'll just fight and regret the call"


Then a bassline starts with a mixture of a drum beat as she went on to say:


"Do you think about me sometimes / Like I think about you / Heard you moved on way too fast / Got someone brand new..."


From this part of the lyrics, the beat progresses to showcase how hurt she felt when her ex found someone else. As a result, it is clear in the chorus that she wishes they had not met in the first place. She would rather prefer they became, "Strangers Instead" :


"We were strangers / Turned to lovers / Never friends / Didn’t know who you were / Did we just pretend? / I don’t wanna go through all that sh*t again / I wish that we never met / Let’s be strangers instead."


Strangers Instead by Lorensa
"Strangers Instead" Single Cover


The upbeat music showcased her soulful vocals that depicted her feelings. Moreover, the music video had a lot of meanings. For example, her crying, the silhouette dances in the final chorus, falling into water etc. All of this depicted the meaning behind the lyrics.


In a nutshell, I like the visuals, especially the intro. I could tell it symbolized the betrayal of someone she loved and trusted. I also liked how the production blended well with her vocals. Lastly, I appreciate the emotion behind the video, especially the tears. Therefore, I rate the track 10/10.




24 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page